Union Bank names five as Team Union Bank members

The Union Bank of Nigeria Plc has named five of the country’s representatives at the 2016 Rio Summer Olympics as members of Team Union Bank.

They are Divine Oduduru (sprint), Seye Ogunlewe (Nigeria’s fastest man), Regina George (400m sprint), Odunayo Adekuruoye (wrestling) and Hannah Babalola (Wheelchair Athletics).

“Actually Oduduru’s video on the social media soliciting for corporate sponsorship made us pick some of the athletes as our team,’’ said Ogochukwu Ekezie-Ekaiden, the bank’s Head, Corporate Communications.

The bank also donated N30 million to the Nigeria Olympic Committee.

The bank said the money was for both the athletes and NOC and the donation was to support the nation’s participation in the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Ekezie-Ekaiden said that N25 million was for the athletes and N5 million for the NOC’s logistics for the Games.

“We see sport as one of the areas of our corporate social responsibility. We are contributing our quota towards developing the skills of our athletes.

“We are not new in this venture. We are helping in boosting the moral of our athletes.

“In Nigeria, we depend solely on the government and this ought not to be so. I hope other entities and institutions will take a cue from us and support Team Nigeria. We are going to ensure that Nigerian athletes in Rio are happy all through the Games,’’ she said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    No comments found.