Copyright society of Nigeria calls for support

Sequel to the recent issuance of a copyright operational license to the Musical Copyright Society of Nigeria (MCSN) by the Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC), the leadership of MCSN has called on stakeholders in the music, sports, entertainment and related industry to support its efforts to end all forms of copyright infringements.

Speaking during the television interview, Orits Wiliki express excitement about the new development, adding that the license will empower it to fulfil its statutory responsibilities. He added that the development has ushered in a new dawn for the entertainment industry and this was made possible by the directives issued by the Honourable Attorney General of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Minister of Justice, Mr. Abubakar Malami, SAN, sequel to which the NCC granted the MCSN the license to operate as a collecting society for purpose of Nigerian Copyright Act.

The MCSN, Nigeria’s premier Collecting Society, which was established in 1984, said that it is committed to collecting debt due to its members in the last seven years. This was made known during a joint television interview session by the Chairman of MCSN Pupa Orits Wiliki alongside Director General and CEO of NCC, Mr. Mayo Ayilaran on Channels TV.

Some of the sectors affected by the new development are Professional Associates, the Media, Agencies, Advertisers, ICT, Internet and Brand Marketing practitioners as well as users of its Works in the Telcoms, Broadband, eCommerce, Broadcast, Banking, Sports, Hospitality, Betting, Lottery and Gaming industries within the digital divide and every operator that make use of other people’s intellectual properties.

And to ensure peace and comradeship with the entertainment industry, the MCSN has therefore extended a hand of friendship across the isles to aggrieved parties Chairman of COSON, Chief Tony Okoroji.

Membership of the MCSN is drawn from various top personalities and high ranking individuals like Orits Wiliki, King Sunny Ade, Eedris Abdukareem,. Charles E. Oputa (Charly Boy), Mr. Michael Okri, Igwe Friday Godwin andf many others.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    No comments found.