Mr Macaroni, Nengi, Erica, others make GAGE AWARDS 2021 nomination shortlist


The GAGE Awards 2021 has released its final list of nominees across various categories after two months of intense nominations; the 2021 awards is also opened for voting of digital practitioners who have emerged from the 20 categories.

Convener of the GAGE Awards, Mr Johnson Anorh, disclosed that it wasn’t an easy task pruning down over 15,000 nominations as Nigerians made their choice on who best served them in the outgoing year using the digital platforms.

“The numbers have been overwhelming as in less than 24 hours, we have had over 1.4Million website visits,” he explained.

The GAGE Award public voting is only restricted to five categories, which are; Online Comedian of them Year, Banking App of the Year, Digital Artiste of the Year, Breakout App of the Year and Data Service Provider of the Year.

However, the Online Influencer of the Year category has been divided into the voter’s choice i.e. the audience select their winner and the GAGE Academy choice which would be determined by the GAGE Academy. Winners of the other 15 categories such as Website of the Year, Best Digital Financial Platform etc. will also be judged by the GAGE academy based on pre-defined measuring indicators that are beyond the reach or knowledge of the generality of the public. The voting will be open till the 15th of March 2021 when the winners emerge.

GAGE Awards seeks to celebrate and spotlight the best individuals, brands or groups who have enriched lives in 2020 by leveraging on the power of digital to simplify our everyday lives. The award recognizes, celebrates, rewards, and amplifies the eventual winners' outstanding activities and contributions to the digital ecosystem yearly.


Nominees for the Banking App of the Year include: VBANK, GTBANK, Zenith Bank, Access Bank and Alat by


The Data Service Provider of the Year include; MTN, Airtel, Globacom, Swift Networks and


The Breakout App of the Year category nominees; Airopay, WhotAfrica, Zoom, TiKTok, and


Online Comedian of the Year nominees; Mr Macaroni, Lasisi Elenu, Sydney Talker, MC

Lively, and 2019 winner, Taaooma.

Influencer of the year category nominees are; Aisha Yesufu, Tomike

Adeoye, Erica Nlewedim, Nengi Hampson and Pamilerin.

Other category nominees are Entrepreneur of the Year; Charles Oyakhilome(CEO,Airopay), Shola

Akinlade and Ezra Olubi(Founder, Paystack), Tope Awotona(CEO, Calendly), Babs Ogundeyi (CEO, Kuda

Bank and Chijioke Dozie, CEO, OneFi and Carbon).

Online News Platform of the year: AriseTvOnline,

ChannelsTv Online, Opera News, Punch Online, BBC Pidgin.

Online Film/Video documentary of the Year nominees include; Bayi by Dianne Russet, Fishbone by Anakle Films, CNN Documentary on EndSars, the

Critics Company.

The nominees for Online Campaign of the Year: *444# USSD campaign by Airtel,

#ShotOnOppo by Oppo, #WearItForMe campaign by MTN and Dettol Hand Wash Challenge.

Nominees for Website of the year include;,,,, and

Nominees for Content Creator of the Year (platform) of the year; NdaniTv, RedTv, Accelerate Tv,

NetFlix and PulseTv.

The nominees for Webseries of the Year include; Shuga Naija, Skinny Girl in Transit, The Mens Club, Therapy and Call to bar.

Nominees for Blog of the Year; Nairaland, Linda Ikeji, BellaNaija, NaijaLoaded and Nairametrics.

The nominees for the Best Digital Financial Platform include;

Paystack, Flutterwave, PAGA, Opay and Palmcredit.

Nominees for App of the Year are; TikTok, Microsoft teams, Zoom, Google Meet and Netflix.

The Nominees for Podcast of the Year include; Pod Save Africa, Letter to boys, I said what I said, From Lagos with Love and The Irregular show.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    No comments found.