Gerety Awards is a new kind of award show -Lucía Ongay

Joe Brooks, former global sales director for the Epica Awards, and Lucía Ongay, former global press manager for the Epica Awards, have decided to set up a new award show for the global advertising industry. The inaugural edition of the award is expected to take place later this year.
Lucía Ongay, made this known in a press statement sent to MARKETING EDGE where she stated that Gerety Awards was not just another awards show, but a new kind of awards show, established to reflect the changes taking place in the advertising industry
“At a time when the advertising industry is trying to redefine itself, awards shows also need to redefine their role. This is the philosophy behind the Gerety Awards. The creation of the Gerety Awards is designed to provide a global platform for talent and support initiatives that champion diversity in the creative industries,” she said.

“With this commitment, Gerety Awards will ensure advertising is held to account and meets the standards clients expect. An awards show should be a focus group of advertising at its best; what better focus group than the Gerety Jury?”

Joe Brooks and Lucía Ongay have more than 20 years combined experience working for advertising awards and believe it is time to do something different: “When we first started talking to key industry leaders about our ideas for the Gerety Awards, we were surprised by the passion and enthusiasm about this concept. This convinced us that what the industry needs now is a new kind of awards show.”
Named after Frances Gerety, the copywriter who coined the slogan “A diamond is forever” for DeBeers in 1948, The Gerety Awards’ creation is designed to provide a global platform for talent and support initiatives that champion diversity in the creative industries.
Judges for the award show include accomplished agency and brand leaders, from around the world. Executive jury sessions will take place in London, Hamburg, New York, Mumbai, Paris, São Paulo, Stockholm, Beirut, Amsterdam and Sydney.
The confirmed jury includes: Rosie Arnold, former CCO, AMV BBDO, Monica Moro, CCO McCann Spain, Nunu Ntshingila, Regional Director, Facebook Africa, Merlee Cruz-Jayme “Chairmom” and Chief Creative Officer, Dentsu Jayme Syfu


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    No comments found.