Meet MARKETING EDGE 2020 Summit & Awards sponsor – NDPHC

The Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC) was incorporated in 2005 under the Companies and Allied matters Act (CAMA) as a private limited liability company fully subscribed to by federal, state and local governments with a mandate to manage the power projects tagged, National Integrated Power Projects (NIPP), an emergency intervention scheme to tackle the power problem in the country. The National Integrated Power Project (NIPP) was conceived in 2004 as a fast-track government funded initiative to stabilise Nigeria’s electricity supply system while the private-sector-led structure of the Electric Power Sector Reform Act (EPSRA) of 2005 took effect.

NIPP was originally designed around seven medium sized gas fired power stations in the gas producing states, and the critical transmission infrastructure needed to evacuate the added power into the national grid. A commitment to electrify host communities in the vicinity of the power stations and major substations gave rise to the distribution component of the project.

In August 2005, the National Council of State and the National Assembly approved an initial funding for NIPP from the excess crude savings account’ (ECSA), which statutorily belongs to the federal, state and local governments. The federal government therefore incorporated the Niger Delta Power Holding Company Limited (NDPHC) as a limited liability company to serve as the legal vehicle to hold the NIPP assets using private sector-orientated best business practices.

The intervention NDPHC has witnessed several ongoing and completed projects in the power sector since its establishment.

Ten new power stations have been constructed in different parts of the country, including Alaoji (1,074MW) in Abia State, Ihovbor (451MW) in Edo State, Calabar (563MW) in Cross River State, Egbema (338 MW) in Imo State, Olorunsogo in Ogun State, Gbarain (225 MW) in Bayelsa State, Omotosho (451 MW) in Ondo State, Geregu (434 MW) in Kogi State and Omoku ( 225MW) in Rivers State.

NDPHC has over 110 transmission in 27 bundles or lots comprising 5, 590 MVA of 330/132Kv transformer capacity, 3,313 MVA of 132/33Kv transformer capacity, 2,194 km of 330Kv lines, 809 km of 132Kv lines, 10 new 330Kv S/S, 7 new 132kv S/S, Expansion of 36 existing 330kv and 132kv S/S and closing the eastern flank of the national grid loop. About 250 distribution projects in 43 lots, including 295 low loss High Voltage Distribution System projects comprising 3,540 MVA injection substation capacity, 2,600km of 11kv lines and 1,700km of 33kv lines across all the 36 states of the Federation including Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and four (4) gas projects.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    No comments found.